Nominations open for Silver Paddle and Orca Awards

The Silver Paddle Award is given by the club executive to express gratitude for a member's valuable contributions to SKABC over the years. In 2023 we are also asking for nominations for the Orca Award. This award is a way of saying thank-you to a person who has made significant contributions not only to SKABC but to the sea kayaking community as a whole.

Nomination guidelines: The club strives to recognize unique individuals each year -- someone who hasn't won before! The list of past recipients is below. Nominations are being accepted now - the deadline is October 15, 2023. Awards will be given at the November 6 Annual General Meeting.

Email Susan Jensen (see member list) to submit your nominations. Thanks!

History of The Silver Paddle and Orca Awards:

These Silver Paddle Award award winners were selected by the club executive to recognize and say a huge thank you for a member's volunteer efforts over the years!

Past Silver Paddle Award Winners:

2021: Philip Kubik

2019: Sue Johnson and Calvin Sam

2018: Graham Lorimer, Bob Salo, Steve Best, Chantal Ethier

2017: Roy Smyth, Inge Zegel, Bruce Pickwell, Randy Chatterjee

2015 Silver Paddle Recipients: Mick Allen, Shirley Brunke, Simone Avram

2014 Silver Paddle Recipients: Karin Hartner, Nick Heath, Rob Leeson

2013 Silver Paddle Recipients: Richard Jensen and Susan Jensen

2009 Silver Paddle Recipients: Bob Maher and Maureen Benzon

2008 Silver Paddle Recipients: Gayla Shulhan, George Prevost, Kallie Cunningham and Peter Kearney.

SKABC instituted the Orca Award as a way to recognize people who have made significant contributions to the kayaking community as a whole. Nominations for this award are sought from all club members before the Annual General Meeting. The challenge is choosing one person from a large group of people who have made a difference.

Past Orca Award Winners

2021 Orca Award: Steve Best

2018 Orca Award: Nick Heath

2007 Orca Award: Cindy Dopson

2006 Orca Award: Tony Clayton

2005 Orca Award: Rick Davies

2004 Orca Award: Ray Pilman

2003 Orca Award: Harald Riffel

A huge thank you to these recipients. We hope to continue the tradition of presenting Orca and Silver Paddle Awards in the future.

This entry was posted in announcement. Bookmark the permalink.