Course Schedule

You're not currently logged in. If you are a SKABC member please logged in to access and view course details and registration information.

Not a member yet? You can become a SKABC member by clicking here

February 2018

Date Event Type
Sat, Feb 24, 2018
(10:00 AM - 11:00 AM)
Kayak Stands Workshop
Do you have a work space and/or kayak stands to work on your kayak or clean it?  And do you have space to store kayak stands?...
Training Course
Sat, Feb 24, 2018
(11:00 AM - 4:00 PM)
Boat Maintenance Workshop
The format for this workshop will be similar to a maker space where we pay the initial fee ($15 course registration) and have a space to...
Training Course

March 2018

Date Event Type
Sat, Mar 17, 2018 - Sun, Mar 18, 2018
(8:30 AM - 6:00 PM)
Wilderness First Aid
This two-day (20 hours) Wilderness First Aid Course is designed to help you deal with an injured person for up to 24 hours.  Due to the nature...
Training Course
Sat, Mar 24, 2018
(9:00 AM - 2:30 PM)
Knots and Tarps – Course Registration
Learn to tie a variety of knots you'll use when kayaking, camping, securing your kayak to your car and your food out of reach of bears.
Training Course

April 2018

Date Event Type
Sat, Apr 21, 2018 - Sun, Apr 22, 2018
(8:35 AM - 6:00 PM)
Navigation – Course
This course will teach participants the fundamentals of navigation, including using charts and compasses. You will learn how to follow a course to a destination and find your way home again with confidence.
Training Course

May 2018

Date Event Type
Sat, May 12, 2018 - Sun, May 13, 2018
(7:30 AM - 7:30 PM)
Weather – Course
The Weather Course will teach you the basic skills and knowledge to make a go or no-go decision for a kayak launch based on the weather.
Training Course

June 2018

Date Event Type
Fri, Jun 1, 2018 - Sun, Jun 3, 2018
(All Day)
Beginners Course
The Beginner Course will give you the basic skills and knowledge to go on trips in sheltered waters or to join competently led trips in places such as Indian Arm and the Gulf Islands.
Training Course
Fri, Jun 15, 2018 - Sun, Jun 17, 2018
(All Day)
Trip Leader Course
Spend three days in the Gulf Islands developing the skills required to lead a SKABC trip for a day, a weekend or an extended period.
Training Course
Sat, Jun 16, 2018 - Sun, Jun 17, 2018
(9:00 AM - 3:00 PM)
Strokes and Rescues Course
This course is an excellent follow-up to the Beginners' course and for every paddler wishing to improve their forward and reverse strokes, work on bracing, steering and boat handling techniques, as well as towing and rescues.
Training Course