Wet suite, dry suite, farmer jane, john…

• Creator
    Topic
    Sandra Waddle
    Participant

I am a beginner paddler. If I am buying a wet suite, which one should I get? Can I use a farmer jane? Or do I need sleeves?

Or is a dry suite just so much better??

Thank you!!

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Peter Kearney

Hi Everyone,

http://www.levelsix.com , a Canadian company that makes great gear  (MEC carries it) has 40% off all gear including drysuits, drytops, spray skirts etc.

Have a great Canads Day!  Peter

Admin

Hi Sandra,

I agree with all the previous comments and like Karen, prefer a 2-piece wetsuit. It’s more versatile because you can wear it with long or short pants depending on the conditions.

Another reason is that I find it more comfortable, because I have along torso and feel compressed in a farmer Jane suit. But the most important reason for me is that the 2-piece suit is easier and more comfortable to deal with when going to the bathroom out in the bush. Especially on a colder or rainy day stripping out of a farmer Jane suit can be very awkward and cold.

Inge

Karin Hartner

Hi Sandra

I agree with Barry. Dry suits are very expensive, especially the Kokatats now that the Canadian dollar is weak against the US.

Start with the wet suit unless you’re planning to become a high performance paddler from the get-go and anticipate spending a great deal of time submerged practicing your skills.

While I do have a dry suit, I actually mostly wear a two-piece neoprene suit (rather that a  farmer Jane). At very reasonable prices MEC sells pants in various lengths from shorts to capri-lenght to long, and vests to wear on top. I just find that more comfortable. I wear a goretex paddling jacket with layers under as rain gear or for warmth unless I’m winter paddling.

Karin

Barry Dutour

Hi Sandra