How much safety is to much ?! 😊

• Creator
    Topic
    Daniel Del Vecchio

What a strange question some may say but i wanted  to get other people’s views on that matter. Sure our opinions maybe skew just by asking a forum such as this but still curious.

As a critical care nurse my view of the world is often bias i see what can go wromg on a regular basis  even things can happen not often. Meaning even something that could happen to only 1 % of the populations would be a larger numbers of visit to the ER as they would  ALL come there.

as i’m reading recently excellent books call “ deep troubles” on kayak incident, my awareness of what can go wrong is increase. But at the same time, a lots of youtube videos of people going alone on the coast on long trips with very little impact on them.

That’s where my questions come: on that continuum of doing all the course,reading and buying safety gears on one side and on the other someone leaving for Vancouver/Alaska solo with very little research and google  maps as navigation ( yep that was a real video 😉). Where is the Goldilocks level?? Where should people come in, the threshold to go kayak with them or not? 😊

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Allan Edwin

Another voice for this discussion with food for thought:

Certification killed paddling adventures

Nancy More

Hi Daniel

I am going to wade in late on this.

My experience in industrial safety and kayaking lead me to believe that there are no accidents.  There are a series of events and choices that lead to incidents that become notable or cause injury or loss.   So, you choose every day things that may or may not contribute to your safety.  They start way before you get on the water.